Isabela (Albemarle): With over 1800 square miles (more than half the land surface area in the archipelago), and about 80 miles in length, the seahorse-shaped Isabela is the largest island in the Galapagos.

This wasn't always the case, as originally there were six islands, each with an active volcano. The extensive lava flows from the six volcanoes (Cerro Azul, Sierra Negra, Alcedo, Darwin, Wolf, and Ecuador) joined together and formed what is today Isabela. Five of the six volcanoes (all but Ecuador) are still active. The Wolf Volcano is the highest point, at 5600 ft.
There are several Visitor Sites on Isabela, including Punta Albemarle, Elizabeth Bay, Punta Garcia, Punta Moreno, Punta Vicente Roca, Tagus Cove, Punta Tortuga, Urvina Bay, and the town of Villamil.

Two of the volcanoes, Alcedo and Sierra Negra, are also Visitor Sites.

In this island penguins, flightless cormorants, marine iguanas, boobies, pelicans and Sally lightfoot crabs abound.
At the skirts and calderas of the volcanoes of Isabela. Land Iguanas and Galapagos Tortoises can be observed, as well as Darwin Finches, Galapagos Hawks, Galapagos Doves and very interesting lowland vegetation. The third-largest human settlement of the archipelago, Puerto Villamil, is located at the south-eastern tip of the island.
Land Visitor Sites